First, before closing your year, you should of course wait until all your teachers have completely finished their assessments and all data in your account (scores, completion, roster, etc.) is exactly the way you want it to be. Once you close the school year, your account will take a snapshot of your data before resetting everything.
Watch the video below to learn how to close your school year in COR Advantage. Written directions are also posted beneath the video.
To get started, log into your account and go to your settings page and click into your Period Settings.
The button to close your school year is located at the very bottom in red. Please note that this button is only visible to users in your program with the highest account level access. The highest level people are who we call administrators and anyone with that access is going to see that button and will be able to close the year whenever needed. If you do not see the button from your end, there is most likely a higher level user in your account!
Starting the Wizard
When you click the red button , it will open the year closing wizard
The first screen will take you through all the decisions you can make to close your program school year. Before starting the actual process, it will ask you to confirm a few things.
First, that you understand that the year closing process is permanent and irreversible once completed. After this process is finished, any data from your previous year cannot be altered anymore, and any decision you made during this process regarding your data cannot be reversed once it’s been completed.
Second, if you are the highest level user and you are doing this, this is going to affect everybody in your account. It is important that you check in with ALL of your users (administrators, directors, and teachers) to see if they are ready for the account to be closed.
Finally, due to the reasons above, please make sure that you are authorized by your program to initiate and complete the year closing process. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our support team at firstname.lastname@example.org.
What are your options going to be throughout this process?
Depending on what type of data you are making a decision for, you will be presented with different options regarding how you would like to handle that data. Please see below for the list of options you may be presented with and what each of those options mean.
Keep - When you select keep, the data will stay exactly where they are.
Remove - Remove the data from the account, but they will still be accessible in some ways and will be retrievable for generating past reports
Delete -Delete the content and make them unrecoverable. Unlike the remove option, the data will not be accessible and not be able to retrieve them. We do not ever recommend deleting things, but we know that for some accounts that is an important thing to be able to do.
You have the option to keep all of your students or remove all of your students.
If you have any students that are staying in your program for the next school year, we recommend keeping the students, and then after the process is over, you can go back to the Roster to archive the specific students that are leaving your program or to move the students that are moving classrooms!
If you choose to remove them, all of your students will be completely removed from your account so that you will start with a blank slate. Their information is still going to be accessible for reporting purposes, but their profiles are going to be completely removed from your account.
Your Moments are photos, anecdotes, or video observations and your Storyboards are the dynamic documentation board feature your teachers and administrators have been using to build lots of engaging content for your families.
Just like students, you can keep them so that the data will stay where they are. They will be accessible to the teachers next year. Any observations in the Moments page from a closed school year will be locked and will not be editable anymore.
Alternatively, you can also remove all moments and storyboards from your account from choosing the remove option. The scores and data from your observations will still be accessible via the Reports feature, but you will no longer be able to reference specific observations on the Moments page, if Moments are removed.
The Messages section is regarding your Sent Messages Report, which is a log of all the communication you’ve sent out from your account. You can choose to keep the records, or remove the records and start fresh again for the next year. Please note that once records are removed, they will not be retrievable anymore!
Daily Note - You may use our connected Daily Note app which has daily sheets functionality such as diaper sheets and nap times. The Daily Note Report will also keep a record of everything the teachers are logging in that app. You have the option to keep all of the records or which are great things to reference in the future or I can choose to delete them.
In the COR System, there are several levels of users: account managers, administrators, directors, and teachers. Just like the students, you have the option to keep all of your users or delete all of your users. Again, if you have any teachers, directors, or administrators returning for next year, we recommend keeping them, and then make the minor adjustments after the year closing process is over.
Next is an important question regarding which of your users will have access to data from the previous year.
Any user can access the Data Export for the current year at their level, but we also recognize that in some programs, it’s important that teachers do not have access to past data and reports.
In this section, you can check the box next to the user levels that can have access to previous year records using the check boxes.
You also have the option to anonymize data, so if you would like to remove the student names from the export data from the past years, you can check this box. The Data Export will then just retain the demographic information and scores, but hide the names.
Finally, you can go to the review page to make sure everything you selected is what you want to finalize.
If something is not what you want, you can click edit and it will take you back to that specific part of the wizard. When you click next, you can go back through the process again and the system will return you back to the review page.
If you are happy with the way things are now, you can select the confirmation checkbox at the bottom.
Afterwards, to close out the year, you will have to type the sentence that appears to truly confirm that you are intentionally closing the school year.
And then you will be able to click finish in the lower right hand corner.
Once you click finish, our system will do all of the things you requested. It will delete the things you want to delete and archive things you want to archive. It will also reset your periods now that you are getting ready for a new school year. This can take up to a couple hours depending on the size of your account.
Afterwards, the wizard will take you back to your Period Settings where you can name and create your next school year!
For further support, please contact email@example.com.